主页 > 健康资讯 > 寒背易成骨刺 护脊有法由小做起

寒背易成骨刺 护脊有法由小做起

现时社会科技愈来愈进步,不论坐车或走路,都市人总一机在手,低头专注,甚至有不少家长,为了让孩子安静下来不乱跑,就给他们拿着手机或平板电脑 ,整日玩游戏或看视频,以换来宁静。可是,家长们往往忽视孩子们遇到的隐性危机,孩子平日上学背着沉重的书包,走路时若只专注地低头看手机或平板电脑,不良的姿势会危害他们的脊骨健康;时间久了,更有机会演变成「寒背」,甚至生骨刺。美国华盛顿大学《放射科学案例》2022年三月刊登一项的香港学术论文,描述的学 童「文字颈」是指颈椎过度使用而导致的损伤,低头看手机屏幕时,头部长期前屈的重复性压力所造成。


一名长期上网的患者,因头颈部疼痛和右上肢麻痹而就诊12个月。在过去三年,严重依赖智能手机,经常驼背在网站编 辑博客和视频。一天至少16小时,用于工作资源和个人任务。他每隔10分钟就会查看一次屏幕。之前一年,曾经出现类似的症状,并看了他的家庭医生。颈椎X光片显示颈椎前凸减少,椎体面和未覆盖的椎体关节退行性增生,显示有颈椎病。这一次,他突然只能保持抬头一分钟,并且无法在不疼痛的情况下移动脖子。这些新 的困难迫使他寻求脊骨神经科治疗。


在最初的评价中,患者表现为颈部的僵硬姿态。他有头颈部疼痛和从右肩到前臂外侧和手部的间歇性麻木。

患者被教导要经常休息,并在发短信时将智能手机举到眼睛的高度。治疗干预从颈椎操作开始,以释放肌肉痉挛和椎体间的限制,重新矫正颈椎活动度, 并减轻神经系统的功能障碍。第一阶段的治疗安排为每周三次。第一个月后,他的颈部疼痛减少了60%,所有的神经系统症状在两个月内得到了解决。在第九个月的重新评价中,症状和功能的改善反映在X光颈椎曲线矫正的影像学变化上。


随着移动/智能手机使用年龄和采用率不断增长,手机短信和游戏变成一种日益增长的生活方式和健康问题。研究显示,过度使用智能手机,导致用户的颈椎明显弯曲,即 "短信颈"。成人颈椎屈曲的支点在C5/C6水准。颈部屈曲0°至15°类似于头正对着肩膀,这时对颈部肌肉的压力是可以接受的低。静态和屈曲的颈部姿势 会导致宫颈后部肌肉组织(颈椎直立肌和枕下肌、肩胛骨上提肌、半月板肌和斜方肌)的持续劳损,产生紧张性头痛、颈部和肩部疼痛、颞下颌关节疼痛,以及宫颈和上胸运动范围的减少。持续弯曲的压力也会使后方的韧带结构松弛,导致椎体间的不稳定、退行性脊柱病和椎体滑动。长远来看,驼背和变直的颈部可导致 神经系统的塑性变化,造成感觉神经和运动神经综合缺陷和进一步的功能障碍。


颈部的持续屈曲会导致颈椎扭曲。由于年幼孩子处于发育成长期,骨骼柔韧度较高,一般情况下很难察觉到有寒背甚至骨刺的问题。当孩子长大,骨骼开始定形,不良姿势及长期劳损的影响便会开始浮现,矫正颈椎错位后可以 改善神经系统症状。

来源: NYMG

相关品牌

纽约医疗集团
纽约医疗集团

Home > Health Blog > Kyphosis Can Easily Cause Bone Spurs! Protect Your Spine as Early as Possible

Kyphosis Can Easily Cause Bone Spurs! Protect Your Spine as Early as Possible

As modern technology is advancing, city dwellers are always lowering their heads and indulging in their smartphones anytime, be it taking a bus or walking. Some parents may even give smartphones or tablets to their children to calm them down and keep them from wandering off. It may be a good way to get a peaceful time by letting them play mobile games and watch videos all day long, but parents have overlooked its underlying danger. As children have to bear heavy school bags, if they even lower their heads to use smartphones or tablets when walking, this poor posture will jeopardise their spine health. In the long run, it may lead to kyphosis and even bone spurs.  In March 2022, a Hong Kong academic article published in “Radiology Case Reports” under the University of Washington stated that “text neck” refers to the overuse injury of the cervical spine. It is caused by the repetitive stress of prolonged cervical flexion while using a smartphone.


In the case study, the patient who always went online experienced head and neck pain and numbness in the right upper limb for 12 months. In the past 3 years, he always sat hunched over to edit blogs and videos and relied on smartphones heavily at least 16 hours a day for both job resources and personal tasks. One year before the diagnosis, he had experienced similar symptoms and visited his family doctor. His cervical radiograph showed reduced cervical lordosis and degenerative proliferation of facets and uncovertebral joints, indicating potential cervical spondylosis. One year later, he suddenly could only raise his head for one minute and could not move his neck without triggering pain. These new problems forced him to seek help from chiropractors.

Initial examination identified his stiff neck posture. He suffered from head and neck pain and recurring numbness from his right shoulder to his lateral forearm and hand.


He was reminded to rest frequently and to raise his smartphone to his eye level when texting. The treatment started with cervical manipulation to relieve muscle spasms and release the restricted intervertebral movement, in order to help restore mobility in the neck and alleviate neurological dysfunction. Three sessions a week were arranged for the first treatment stage. After the first month, his neck pain was relieved by 60%; within two months, all of his neurological symptoms were treated. On the follow-up assessment in the ninth month, his radiographic change of the cervical curve correction reflected the improvement in his symptoms and functions.


As smartphones are becoming more and more popular among all ages, texting and gaming lead to increasing lifestyle and health concerns. Studies showed that the excessive use of smartphones can cause a prominent cervical flexion known as the ‘text neck’. For adults, their fulcrum for cervical flexion is at the C5/C6 level. When your neck bends forwards at 0° to 15°, your head will be right above your shoulders, exerting an acceptably low amount of stress on the neck muscles. A static or bent neck posture can continuously strain the posterior cervical muscles, including erector spinae and suboccipital muscles, levator scapulae muscles, semispinalis and trapezius muscles. This can consequently cause tension headaches, neck and shoulder pain, temporomandibular joint (TMJ) pain, and decreased range of motion in the neck and upper chest. The pressure from constant flexion will also cause posterior ligamentous laxity, leading to instability between vertebrae, spondylosis and sliding vertebrae. In the long run, kyphosis and a straight neck can cause plastic changes in the nervous system, resulting in sensorimotor integration deficiencies and further dysfunctions.


Continuous cervical flexion will twist the cervical spine. Since children are still in the development stage in which their bones are flexible, it is usually difficult to notice kyphosis or even bone spurs. When their bones form as they grow up, the damage from prolonged overuse due to poor posture will manifest itself in neurological symptoms, which can be improved by adjusting cervical subluxation.


Source: NYMG

Related Brands

New York Medical Group
New York Medical Group